Professor Ginkgo Chronicles 3

Standard

Chapter 3: Phone Call

Fan fiction inspired by Pokemon

Rating: Young adult

 

I stayed late into the night at the pokémon center in Driftveil City. I seemed to have been low on cash to stay at a hotel and Emolga and Vileplume needed to replenish their energy anyway. I was ready to call it a night while sitting in the lobby when the nurse on staff came up to me.

“You have a phone call, Prof. Ginkgo,” she said.

I’m not sure how anyone could have known that I would be in Driftveil City, let alone the pokémon center, but somehow someone managed to find me here. I thanked the nurse and sat down at the console.

“Is this Prof. Ginkgo?” a mysterious robotic voice said on the other end.

Clearly this person did not want me to know who he or she was, since the voice was changed and there was no video transmission, despite there being a video feature.

“Who is this?” I asked.

“Bring me the Emolga. His trainer wants him back now.”

“What’s your name? How did you find me here?”

“Let’s just say I have a lot of eyes,” the voice said, ignoring my first question. “You have the Emolga, don’t you?”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about,” I lied.

“Like I said, Prof. Ginkgo, I have many eyes. By not denying that you are indeed Prof. Ginkgo, I know that the Emolga is with you.”

The person on the other end was persistent, yet very convincing. I gave in.

“He’s resting here at the pokémon center tonight. I can’t let you have him yet.”

“That’s fine. I didn’t expect you to come out here right away. Besides, it would be a shame for a professor to return a pokémon to its trainer harmed, wouldn’t it?”

I gathered my thoughts as we fell silent for at least five seconds, though it seemed like minutes.

“What’s in it for me? Why should I return the Emolga to his trainer?”

“Selfish, are we? That’s not very fitting for a professor.”

“I’m not selfish, just curious is all.”

“Perhaps. Well then, I’ll make you a deal. Return the Emolga to me and his trainer, and I’ll reveal what that device was around his neck. That’s what you want to know, right?”

It’s true that I wanted to protect the Emolga from harm until this mystery was solved; however, such important information could be very useful to solve this case.

“And what if I don’t return this Emolga to you?”

“Then we shall never speak of this matter again, and I will not pursue you. However, I don’t think the Emolga’s trainer will feel the same way. You saw it in his eyes, didn’t you? The eyes of a determined soul who would kill in order to get what he wants. I don’t need to explain what deadly repercussions will occur if the trainer doesn’t get that Emolga back.”

I gulped. This was truly an offer I could not refuse. I felt cornered, unable to avoid the situation or change it in my favor. But most of all, I feared what may happen to Emolga if I went through with this deal. I pondered at little more about how I might turn this around; and ultimately.

“Okay, I’ll meet you and the trainer. I’ll even come without any assistance or pokémon other than the Emolga, so you know you can trust me. Just promise me one thing: Emolga will be safe along with the trainer from now on, got it? You will not interfere with their training ever again.”

“Aren’t we bold in making such demands?” said the voice sarcastically. “Such arrogance coming from such a young and naïve professor. You would ask me not to interfere with the boy and the Emolga so that you can teach him how to properly care for his pokémon? You can try, but believe me; the trainer will not listen to you at all. He’s quite a stubborn kid.”

There was a pause on the other end. I kept my guard up as I continued to listen.

“I accept then,” said the voice, eventually. “You will bring the Emolga to me and the trainer tomorrow without any assistance from any person or pokémon. In return, I promise I will not interfere with their training ever again.”

“And the device around Emolga’s neck?”

“Oh, I’ll tell you. I’ll even give you the patent notes I have on it, so you know how it works from the inside and out as a bonus.”

“Agreed. Where would you like me to go?”

“I will forward you an image of the map where you must go. Meet me at the rendezvous point found there at ten o’clock in the morning and have the Emolga with you, unharmed.”

“That goes without saying.”

“Ah yes, and if I recall, you want to know who I am. You asked about it earlier in our conversation, did you not?”

“It’s fine. I’ll just find out who you are tomorrow.”

“Why keep something so important in suspense? You won’t get any sleep tonight that way. Listen carefully, know my name, and remember it well.”

The voice paused briefly as I heard some scrambling on his end. When the voice returned, it was no longer manipulated by a voice changer and was also distinctly feminine.

“I am Professor Sakura.”

Leave a Reply

