Original Sonnet: “This Smile”

Standard

For those who don’t know me very well, I love reading and writing sonnets; and at least at one point in my life, I used to write a lot of them. This one in particular, I was experimenting with using the Shakespearean style backwards.

 

“This Smile” by yours truly.

Originally written 4 September 2007.

 

How lovely is that crescent of your lips;

That accent on your bust, so free of chips?

 

This perfect curvature upon your face

Projects such loving personality.

And all the earth found comfort from your grace;

Commenced with this smile of tranquility.

 

Your gentle gestures brought me close to you.

I thought this friendship would go one more step…

But truly, one and one, does not make two

For we’d have global burdens you would schlep.

 

Why must this smile match this attractive belle?

Shall I inherit your collective ends?

I cannot love you, woman, lest you tell

That you can love me, too; or we’ll be friends.

 

Enjoy your Valentine’s Day, folks.

Leave a Reply

